加大支持以满足快速增长的需要

难以扩展的系统、令人沮丧的体验和低下的洞察力已成为 PayPal 的遥远记忆。 借助 Genesys Multicloud CX™,这家在线支付巨头现在能以更少的排队、更短的处理时间和更少的座席切换跟上两位数增长的步伐。 其他收益包括净推荐值(NPS)提升 30 个点和员工流失率降低三分之一。

观看视频

提升 30 个点

NPS 得分

缩短处理时间

并通过基于先进技能的全局路由进行传输

降低 33%

员工流失率

全天候

灾难恢复

提升洞察力

实现精确的预测和工作负载分配

Genesys 平台具有可扩展性、灵活性和混合路由功能,这对我们的成功至关重要。 现在,我们可以在客户需要我们的时候,在他们需要我们的渠道中为他们提供服务——在全球 200 多个市场中,使用 24 种不同的语言,高效且有效地为他们提供服务。

Brad Strock

CIO

PayPal

PayPal 是一家全球金融和技术公司,业务覆盖全球 200 多个市场,PayPal 在线支付系统,提供传统纸上作业法(如支票和汇票)的电子替代方案。 该公司为全球商务提供支持,允许客户以 100 多种货币收付款,以 57 种货币提取资金到其银行账户,并以 26 种货币持有 PayPal 账户的余额。 2015 年,PayPal 每季度为超过 800 亿美元的付款提供支持,包括近 50 亿笔交易,其中 28% 的交易是在移动端完成的, 并且这些数字还在继续增长。

PayPal 的座右铭是:“客户是我们一切工作的中心。” 当出现问题时,员工们知道他们需要在客户选择的任何渠道中提供帮助。 为了兑现这一承诺,11,700 多个 PayPal 座席(亦称为“团队成员”)现在使用 Genesys Multicloud CX™ 平台为全球超过 1.88 亿消费者和 1,300 万商家提供服务。 Genesys 提供 PayPal 推动规模创新所需的灵活性和稳定性,同时创造无障碍体验,因而能快速解决问题。

一个能跟上业务增长步伐的灵活平台

面对两位数增长,PayPal 专有路由平台在很大程度上受到限制。 该平台捆绑于 PBX 所在的特定地区,无法为全球需求以及不断增加的交互量提供支持。 此外,内部开发和维护成本高昂。

如果没有基于先进技术的路由,客户就无法高效地匹配到合适的座席,而且多次转账和长时间等待会让客户和座席都感到沮丧。 PayPal 还缺乏前台和后台活动之间的客户案例可见性,以及绩效监控、报告和预测相关的关键数据见解,这使得难以有效且高效地服务于客户。

PayPal 需要一个灵活、可扩展的平台,以支持其业务增长,提高业务流程效率,并在全球范围内实现差异化客户体验。

未来三个月交付两个新的服务中心

在很短的时间内,PayPal 从专注于点对点支付的创业公司,发展成为在线零售支付领域的重要参与者。 在 2002 年 eBay 收购 PayPal 之后,这家公司以两位数的年增长率持续高速发展。 增长率如此之高,以致于 PayPal 在 2014 年决定从 eBay 进行剥离。 他们仅有 9 个月的时间来分割公司,其中有 3 到 4 个月的时间被专门用于执行新服务中心计划。

通过利用 Genesys 基于软件的架构,PayPal 能够在短短三个月内无缝过渡业务并轻松地以其为中心运转,从零开始增建了两座 Genesys 数据中心设施(允许启用 44 个客户交互中心)。 在集成请求发出后 30 天之内,Genesys 的功能完全启用,以支持语音和案例联络。 Genesys 客户体验平台使 PayPal 能够完全集成五个传统系统,并将所有客户交互整合到单一视图中。 利用 Genesys 软件电话控制,PayPal 能够轻松地将新平台与其桌面应用程序相融合,简化部署和采用过程,并改进现有解决方案的功能,且无需对团队再次进行培训。

以单一客户体验平台为基础

Genesys 为 PayPal 提供了一个完全融合的全球客户体验平台,该平台可轻松、完美地管理全球各地的所有客户互动和工作项目,并将所有客户互动整合到团队成员的单一视图中。 不局限于特定技术的单一平台通过将前台和后台活动联系起来并在多个通信渠道(包括语音、电子邮件和内部聊天)中整合案例管理和欺诈监督控件,提高可见性并为团队成员提供重要的客户背景信息。 通过将所有客户交互整合到单个视图中,团队成员现在可以完全透明地了解客户的交易历史记录。

通过基于先进技术的全球路由,Genesys 自动确定案例的优先级并将案例分配至专门的资源,从而第一时间将客户分配给合适的座席,确保问题尽快得到解决。 通过将所有渠道融合到单一平台中,PayPal 如今可以轻松地将高价值客户与最合适的员工(无论身在何处)进行匹配,从而实现最高水平的客户满意度。

PayPal 首席信息官 Brad Strock 说道:“Genesys 客户体验平台的可扩展性和灵活性以及混合路由功能对我们的成功至关重要。 现在,我们可以在客户需要我们的时候,在他们需要我们的渠道中为他们提供服务——在全球 200 多个市场中,使用 24 种不同的语言,高效且有效地为他们提供服务。”

PayPal 还将 Genesys Chat 作为一款可以依赖的内部工具,将问题上报给团队成员和主管,并通过短信和语音外展提供前瞻性的客户关怀和客户通知。

当 PayPal 于 2010 年开始与 Genesys 合作时,他们每天处理大约 80,000 个语音联系案例和 100,000 个电子邮件案例。 如今,Genesys 每天帮助 PayPal 高效、熟练地处理大约 150,000 个语音联系案例,50,000 个电子邮件案例和 50,000 个后台案例。

利用全局可见性跨渠道管理业务

PayPal 服务交付和工程部高级总监 Dar Andrews 表示:“在与 Genesys 合作之前,我们对自己一半的业务基本毫不知情,因而无法有效地预测和管理业务。 Genesys 使我们能够更好地管理和理解我们全球所有的渠道和团队。”

除了使用 Genesys 智能工作负载分布 (iWD) 路由交互并通过前台渠道工作外,PayPal 还利用强大的 API 套件来改进后台案例管理。 以前,团队成员会反复挑选自己要处理的任务。 现在,PayPal 可以轻松地确定任务的优先级,并将任务分配给最适合处理此工作的后台团队成员。 集成现有系统优化了工作流程,增进了对客户历史和需求的了解,从而更快地解决问题,实现空前的高效率。

Strock 称:“了解我们的所有工作类型以及可用于执行这些任务的所有资源,这与我们过去的运营相比是一项重大改进。”

此外,PayPal 还能进一步了解团队成员正在处理的任务,并利用 Genesys Info Mart 提供的真正多渠道报告来管理业务,这也有助于他们改进全球覆盖计划。 得益于 Genesys,PayPal 已将 10 个报告来源整合到一个视图中。 因此,他们能够更有效地将合并和收购业务进行集成,并以前所未有的方式准确衡量和预测业务。

PayPal 运营主要受益于从单一途径对平均处理时间、联络数量和 SLA 的准确了解。 Genesys 使我们能够轻松地将数据提取到数据仓库(融合联系人、NPS 得分和客户活动元数据),这对于我们同样至关重要。 PayPal 是一家数据驱动型公司,需要准确、及时的管理。 Genesys 能很好地支持这一需求。

Dar Andrews

Senior Director of Service Delivery and Engineering

PayPal

Andrews 称道:“Genesys 全面提供能真正将 PayPal 提升至更高水平所需要的平台, 它终将成为规则改变者。”

Andrews 补充道:“PayPal 运营主要受益于从单一途径对平均处理时间、联络数量和 SLA 的准确了解。Genesys 使我们能够轻松地将数据提取到数据仓库(融合联系人、NPS 得分和客户活动元数据),这对于我们同样至关重要。PayPal 是一家数据驱动型公司,需要准确、及时的管理。Genesys 能很好地支持这一需求。”

客户交互愿景现已成为现实

基于先进技术的全新全球路由缩短了处理时间和转账次数,极大地减轻了客户的沮丧情绪。 NPS 正在持续改善,在某些市场中增加了 30 个点。

Andrews 说道:“Genesys 确实强大, 它更高效、更经济划算,并且提供更好的支持服务,从而提高了客户满意度。”

Genesys 还有助于打造让团队成员更满意的环境,团队成员现在可以获得最适合他们解决的交互和工作项目。 事实上,在过去六年中,员工保留率一直在提高,因而招聘和培训成本在不断减少。 PayPal 员工流失率比采用 Genesys(2009/2010)之前大约降低三分之一。

与以前基于区域的系统相比,该全球平台支持全天候灾难恢复。 PayPal 可以轻松地将客户转至全球其他地区,以便万一出现暴风雪、热带风暴或其他天气所致事件时可以有效地处理联络案例。

Andrews 说道:“Genesys 具有极佳的灵活性,并且非常易于使用, 无论从管理角度、销售角度,还是从支持角度来看,Genesys 都是一家模范公司。”

Strock 总结道:“技术不仅在推动创新, 它还在驱动业务战略。 我们的技术平台选择不仅具有战略意义而且至关重要,我们期待将 Genesys 作为关键战略平台提供商,帮助我们继续创新,以便为我们的消费者和商家提供新的服务和功能。”

一目了然

客户: PayPal

行业: Financial services

企业规模: 11,700 agents

挑战

  • 面对两位数增长,传统系统无法扩展
  • 大范围的排队现象导致多次转账和长时间等待
  • 团队成员和客户的体验令人沮丧
  • 缺乏对前台和后台渠道和活动的全局洞察

Genesys ChatQuick links
Close Widget

今天我们如何为您提供帮助?

Genesys Chat现场协助

Scales support to meet rapid growth

Hard-to-scale systems, frustrating experiences and poor insight are a distant memory for PayPal. With Genesys Multicloud CX™, the online payments giant is now able to keep pace with double-digit growth with less queues, lower handle time and fewer agent handoffs. Other gains include a 30-point Net Promoter Score (NPS) improvement and a one-third reduction in staff attrition.

Watch the video

30-point increase

in NPS scores

Reduced handle time

and transfers with advanced skills-based global routing

33% reduction

in teammate attrition

24/7

disaster recovery

Increased insight

for accurate forecasting and workload distribution

The Genesys platform with its scalability, flexibility and blended routing is absolutely critical to our success. Now we can service customers when they need us, in the channel that they need us, at the time that they need us — in 200 markets around the globe and in 24 different languages, efficiently and effectively.

Brad Strock

CIO

PayPal

A global financial and technology company operating in more than 200 markets worldwide, PayPal is an online payments system offering electronic alternatives to traditional paper methods like checks and money orders. The company enables global commerce, allowing customers to pay and get paid in more than 100 currencies, withdraw funds to their bank accounts in 57 currencies, and hold balances in their PayPal accounts in 26 currencies. In 2015, PayPal supported more than $80 billion in payments per quarter, including nearly 5 billion transactions, 28% of which were completed via mobile. And these numbers continue to grow.

The PayPal motto is “we put people at the center of everything we do.” When issues arise, they know they need to be available to help in whatever channel the customer chooses. To make good on this promise, more than 11,700 PayPal agents, called “teammates,” now use the Genesys Multicloud CX™ platform to service more than 188 million consumers and 13 million merchants around the globe. Genesys provides the flexibility and stability PayPal needs to drive innovation at scale, while creating a frictionless experience to quickly resolve problems.

A flexible platform to keep pace with business growth

In the face of double-digit growth, the proprietary PayPal routing platform had significant scale limitations. Tied to the specific region where the PBX was located, the platform couldn’t support global demand and increasing interaction volumes. In addition, in-house development and maintenance were expensive.

Without advanced skills-based routing, customers could not be efficiently matched to the right teammate and multiple transfers and long hold times frustrated both customers and teammates. PayPal also lacked customer case visibility between front- and back-office activities, as well as key data insights for performance monitoring, reporting and forecasting, which made it hard to service customers effectively and efficiently.

PayPal needed a flexible, scalable platform that would support their business growth, improve business process efficiencies and enable differentiated customer experiences around the world.

Two new service centers in three months

In a very short timeframe, PayPal evolved from a start-up focused on peer-to-peer payments to an online retail payments player. When eBay bought PayPal in 2002, the business exploded, with double-digit growth, year after year. The growth was so great that in 2014 PayPal decided to separate from eBay. They were given only nine months to divide the company, three to four months of which were dedicated to executing the plan for the new service centers.

By leveraging the software-based architecture of Genesys, PayPal was able to seamlessly transition the business and easily pivot, building out two Genesys Data Center installations — from scratch — in only three months (allowing enablement of 44 customer engagement centers). Within 30 days of the integration request, Genesys capabilities were fully enabled to support voice and case contacts. The Genesys Customer Experience platform enabled PayPal to fully integrate five legacy systems and consolidate all customer interactions in a single view. Using the Genesys softphone control, PayPal easily merged the new platform with their desktop application, simplifying rollout and adoption, and improving functionality of existing solutions without the need for team re-training.

Single customer experience platform as foundation

Genesys provides PayPal with a fully blended, global customer experience platform that manages all customer interactions and work items easily and flawlessly anywhere around the globe and consolidates all customer interactions in a single view for team members. The single technology-agnostic platform increases visibility and provides team members important customer context by linking front- and back-office activities, and incorporating case management and fraud oversight controls across multiple communication channels, including voice, email and internal chat. By consolidating all customer interactions in a single view, teammates now have full transparency into a customer’s transaction history.

Through advanced skills-based global routing, Genesys automatically prioritizes and distributes cases to the appropriately skilled resources, getting customers to the right teammate the first time, which ensures issues are resolved as quickly as possible. By blending all channels into a single platform, PayPal can now easily match the highest value customers to the most suitable employees, regardless of location, and deliver the highest level of customer satisfaction.

“The scalability and flexibility of the Genesys customer experience platform and blended routing has been absolutely critical to our success,” said Brad Strock, CIO of PayPal. “Now we can service customers when they need us, in the channel that they need us, at the time that they need us — in 200 markets around the globe and in 24 different languages, efficiently and effectively.”

PayPal also relies on Genesys Chat as an internal tool to escalate issues to teammates and supervisors, as well as SMS and voice outreach for proactive customer care and customer notifications.

When PayPal began the Genesys partnership in 2010, they were handling approximately 80,000 voice contacts and 100,000 email cases per day. Today, Genesys helps PayPal effectively and proficiently route around 150,000 voice contacts; 50,000 emails and 50,000 back-office cases per day.

Managing the business with global visibility across channels

“Prior to working with Genesys, half of our business was largely invisible to us. We weren’t able to forecast and manage the business effectively,” said Dar Andrews, Senior Director of Service Delivery and Engineering at PayPal. “Genesys gave us the ability to better manage and understand all of our channels and teams globally.”

In addition to using Genesys intelligent Workload Distribution (iWD) to route interactions and work through front-office channels, PayPal has also taken advantage of the robust suite of APIs to improve back-office case management. Previously, teammates would cherry pick tasks to work on. Now PayPal can easily prioritize and assign tasks to the back-office teammate best suited to handle the work. Integrating existing systems has optimized workflow and improved understanding of customer history and needs, leading to faster resolution and new levels of efficiency.

“Having visibility into all of our work types, and all of the resources available to work those tasks, is a significant improvement over our past operations,” said Strock.

PayPal also has more visibility into what teammates are working on and can manage the business by leveraging true multichannel reporting from Genesys Info Mart, which also helps them improve scheduling for global coverage. Thanks to Genesys, PayPal has consolidated 10 sources of reporting into one view. As a result, they are able to integrate mergers and acquisitions more efficiently, and accurately measure and forecast the business in ways that weren’t before possible.

Having one point of truth for average handle time, contact volumes and SLAs has been a major benefit to PayPal operations. The ease with which Genesys allows us to extract data into our data warehouse — merging contacts, NPS scoring, and customer activity metadata — was equally critical to us. PayPal is a data-driven company that requires accurate and timely management. Genesys supports that need well.

Dar Andrews

Senior Director of Service Delivery and Engineering

PayPal

“Across the board, Genesys provided the platform that we needed to really see PayPal move to the next level,” said Andrews. “It was a huge game changer.”

“Having one point of truth for average handle time, contact volumes and SLAs has been a major benefit to PayPal operations,” added Andrews. “The ease with which Genesys allows us to extract data into our data warehouse — merging contacts, NPS scoring, and customer activity metadata – was equally critical to us. PayPal is a data-driven company that requires accurate and timely management. Genesys supports that need well.”

Customer engagement vision now a reality

The new level of advanced skills-based global routing has reduced handle time and transfers, dramatically reducing customer frustration. NPS are showing consistent improvement, with an increase of 30 points in some markets.

“Genesys is really powerful,” said Andrews. “It’s more efficient, more cost-effective and supports the delivery of better service, which has resulted in better customer satisfaction.”

Genesys has also contributed to creating an environment that’s more fulfilling for teammates, who are now getting interactions and work items they’re best fit to resolve. In fact, retention has improved consistently over the last six years, reducing hiring and training costs. PayPal teammate attrition rates are roughly one-third better than they were pre-Genesys (2009/2010).

Compared to the previous, regionally based system, the global platform supports disaster recovery with 24/7 availability. PayPal can easily redirect customers to other parts of the globe to effectively handle contacts in the case of a snowstorm, tropical storm or other weather-driven events.

“Genesys provides excellent flexibility and is very easy to work with,” said Andrews. “Administratively, from a sales perspective, and from a support perspective, Genesys is a role model company.”

Strock concluded, “Technology is not only driving innovation. It is driving business strategy. The technology platform choices that we make are strategic and critical, and we’re looking to Genesys as a provider of a key strategic platform to help us continue to innovate with new services and capabilities for our consumers and merchants.”

At a glance

Customer: PayPal

Industry: Financial services

Company size: 11,700 agents

Challenges

  • Legacy system unable to scale in face of double-digit growth
  • Basic queueing led to multiple transfers, long hold times
  • Frustrating experience for teammates and customers
  • Lack of global insight into front- and back-office channels and activities

Genesys ChatLive Assistance
Close Widget

Genesys ChatLive Assistance